Awards of Excellence 2022 – Sponsored by Caterpillar

AustStab 10th  Awards of Excellence Winners Announced

The 2022 AustStab Awards of Excellence winners were announced at the AustStab Gala Dinner and Awards night on Wednesday 10th August 2022.

The Awards celebrate leading practice and innovation in pavement recycling and stabilisation as well as the emergence of new talent in the industry and are keenly anticipated each year.

Category 1: Work Health and Safety

Winner:  Matt Billings, Downer EDI Works, Ground Level Fuelling System

Highly Commended: Mark Dexter, Hiway Stabilizers, Sharpening your Senses – Managing Variability in the Work Environment

Category 2: Industry Excellence in Consulting, Research or Education

Winner: Alana Isbister , Stabilised Pavement of Australia, Successful Starts

Highly Commended: Janitha Madhavie Migunthanna, Swinburne University of Technology and SPARC Hub, Development of Geopolymer Concrete using Waste Clay Brick as Binder for Pavement Construction

Category 3: Excellence in Sustainability

Winner: Troy Carrigan, Hiway Stabilizers, Horrocks Highway LBCM Implementation – Technical Excellence meets Sustainability

Highly Commended: Chris Cleaton, Stabilised Pavements of Australia, Merimbula Airport Foamed Bitumen Stabilisation

Category 4: Excellence in Pavement Recycling and Stabilisation in Local Government

Winner: Mohamed Dewji, Liverpool Council, Stabilisation Advocation & Leading Pavement Recycling Innovation in Local Government

Winner: Nathan Jacobs, WA Stabilising, City of Melville Foam Bitumen Stabilisation

Category 5: Young Stabiliser of the Year

Winner: Ellah Black, Hiway Stabilizers



Congratulations to the winners and thanks to all the nominees and finalists.

Thanks also to our Awards sponsor Caterpillar.

Read the Finalists’ submissions for the 2022 AustStab Awards of Excellence by clicking on the titles below.

Category 1 – Work Health and Safety Finalists

The Work Health and Safety award recognises excellence in the following general areas specific to application within the pavement recycling and stabilisation industry.

To view the submissions click on the titles below:

Category 2 – Industry Excellence in Consulting, Research or Education Finalists

This award recognises outstanding achievements in design, research or education associated with pavement recycling and stabilisation that will provide new ways of conducting or promoting sustainable pavement construction and rehabilitation processes

To view the submissions click on the titles below:

Category 3 – Excellence in Sustainability Finalists

The Excellence in Sustainability award targets initiatives that demonstrate outstanding economic, social and environmental sustainability in pavement recycling and stabilisation.

To view the submissions click on the titles below:

Category 4 – Excellence in Pavement Recycling and Stabilisation in Local Government Finalists

This award is specifically aimed at Local Government initiatives that have adopted innovative pavement recycling and stabilisation practices and that have resulted in better outcomes for Local Government constituents.